The relationship between myself and my surroundings is one of the driving forces behind my 
practice. Rebecca Solnit wrote that “environmental problems are really cultural problems.” I’m 
interested in unearthing those cultural blindspots that promote a dysfunctional relationship to 
the environment.

I make art not by creating something new, but by reorganizing what’s already there. I primarily 
use found materials that are widely considered to be worthless, such as plastic bottles, tree  branches, cardboard, and phone books. I make full use of each material’s unique sculptural properties as well as its historical, cultural, and environmental resonances.

My process is resourceful, responsive, and playful. I spend as much time exploring, scavenging for materials, and researching as I do making. I make both public and gallery‐based work, and I learn different things from each.

Leave a Reply

