I’m getting ready for a show at NURTUREart (it opens at the end of April), and these days it seems like I’m kind of feeling around in the dark. Here are some words of wisdom and sympathy from Jessica Stockholder via Art21:

“I think there are lots of different kinds of thinking. Your hands learn to do things that you could spend a whole day trying to write about and articulate. What’s intuition? It’s a kind of thinking. It’s not stupidity. And so I think there’s a discomfort associated with trying to put all those different ways the brain works together. So I kind of like to avail myself of that discomfort.”

“It’s odd to be in the studio and not know what you’re going to do. I think being an artist and choosing to put yourself in a circumstance where you don’t know just how things are going to work out and what you’re going to do is very exciting and rich and also difficult.”

Here she is painting on a shag carpet:

4 thoughts on “Difficulty & Discomfort

  1. I have always had a hard time making work when i don’t have it all planned out in my brain (and then in a sketch, and then a drawing, and then I can finally start painting) beforehand. One of my goals for the new year is to get a little looser, both with my process and technique. I know I’ll be forced to do that once i get into grad school, but it might be less painful to do it in the privacy of my own studio first…

    1. Yeah it’s a really weird thing, putting yourself out there when you’re not completely sure of what you’re doing. Hopefully you have the chance to tell your studio visitors that you’re still in experimental mode so they don’t go judging it like it’s a complete piece.

      Today I saw an exhibit of Indian miniature paintings at the Met. It was really cool and they have some strange & beautiful depictions of landscapes!

  2. I’ve been meaning to go see that show at the Met. When I was an undergrad, I discovered the work of Shazia Sikander (i think that’s her name). She’s a contemporary artist who uses persian miniature paintings as a jump-off point. I think my work has definitely been influenced by that kind of work.

    I also want to see the old Japanese paintings show that’s at the Met. I will get to do so many things once i get this damned application in!

Leave a Reply

