Difficulty & Discomfort

I’m getting ready for a show at NURTUREart (it opens at the end of April), and these days it seems like I’m kind of feeling around in the dark. Here are some words of wisdom and sympathy from Jessica Stockholder via Art21:

“I think there are lots of different kinds of thinking. Your hands learn to do things that you could spend a whole day trying to write about and articulate. What’s intuition? It’s a kind of thinking. It’s not stupidity. And so I think there’s a discomfort associated with trying to put all those different ways the brain works together. So I kind of like to avail myself of that discomfort.”

“It’s odd to be in the studio and not know what you’re going to do. I think being an artist and choosing to put yourself in a circumstance where you don’t know just how things are going to work out and what you’re going to do is very exciting and rich and also difficult.”

Here she is painting on a shag carpet: